Evolving Vision for Random Acts of Crafting

1 Jun

I’m creating an evolving vision for this blog. I have a lot of creative friends, and I have a lot of friends who are creative but don’t quite know it. I know there are many people out there who are yet to be my friend who would be a real asset to this idea.

Random Acts of Crafting is about giving back, whether that’s by giving a hand crafted gift to someone, or whether that’s teaching other people how to do what you do, or by showcasing great finds on the internet and in your geographical area. I’m thinking Tutorial Tuesdays, Wedding Wednesdays, I Pinned It from Pinterest Mondays…you get the idea. Themed days that people will look forward to reading about, plus Random Acts of Crafting that will not only restore our faith in each other, but also teach us a technique we may not already know.

I’ve gotten a great response from people who want to help me with this blog – it’s great! The response has been so wonderful, that I’ve realized I need to come up with some kind of guidelines. It wouldn’t be too great to have 10 posts on one day, and then none for five days! I’m creating a survey in Google Docs that I’ll send out to whomever is interested in creating on the blog. And anyone who is going to be a part of the blog will need to have a Google/Gmail account since we’ll be utilizing Google Docs to keep the editorial calendar.

So here are some of the crafty areas I’ve identified for us:

  • Furniture crafts: refinishing, repurposing, etc
  • Home repair and remodeling
  • Fashion: makeup, clothing, accessories, etc
  • Vintage: finding vintage items, repurposing vintage items, crafting with vintage items, etc
  • Beading
  • Small business craft owner
  • Needle Arts: embroidery, crewel, stump work, cross stitch, etc…
  • Trash to Treasure
  • Polymer Clay
  • Paper Crafts: scrapbooking, card making, etc…
  • Shrine Making
  • Resin
  • Crochet
  • Knitting
  • Food: baking, vegan, vegetarian, BBQ, etc…
  • Jewelry Making
  • Fine Arts: painting, sculptures, etc…
  • Printables
  • Photography
  • Letterpress
  • Computer Editing: Photoshop, GIMP, etc…
  • Other…

And some of the themes I’ve thought up are:

  • Everyday Living
  • Baby
  • Children
  • Teens
  • Wedding
  • Organization
  • Holidays
  • Gardening
  • Other…

I hope you’re still as excited as I am!
Please comment here or email me at RandomActofCraft {at} gmail {dot} com if you want to join our motley crew! I’ll send you the survey and guidelines for posting.

4 Responses to “Evolving Vision for Random Acts of Crafting”

  1. Misty Owens Meyers June 1, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    Amy, this sounds really fun! I’m definitely interested, so please send me the survey and guidelines!!

    • Amy Byrne-Henderson June 1, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

      Awesome! I will now admit that I’m still working on both of those things!! I’ll get them out to you as soon as I’m finished. Will you please send me your email address to randomactofcraft {at} gmail {dot} com?

  2. queenoffamilosity June 2, 2012 at 12:41 am #

    Amy,
    This sounds interesting. Please keep me informed.

  3. Amy Byrne-Henderson June 2, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Here’s the link to the questionnaire I mentioned in the post: https://randomactsofcrafting.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/blog-author-questionnaire/

Leave a comment